I Suck at Blogging

I really, really do. I always start with the best of intentions but then, just like that, life gets in the way. Blogging is not a passion of mine. But writing is. I love to write. I love looking at my words on a page and finding a way to make them better. To find a more poetic way of saying something. To find a way to say something with more impact and fewer words. The best compliment I ever received was from someone who told me that I had the best metaphors they’d ever heard.

I glowed for days. Seriously.

For me, blogging isn’t writing. Blogging is communicating and, mostly, I don’t feel like I have anything of value to communicate. The one post that I really and truly felt was writing, Confessions of a Hopeless Optimist, took me 20 minutes to write and was picked up by two other websites. That thrilled me. And intimidated me.

How am I supposed to follow that? What’s the level of expectation? (You’ll find that I am far, far too worried about the opinions of others so knowing that there were all these people reading this blog scared the shit out of me. I don’t do anything just for me, especially something as public as a blog.)

So I’m going to stop caring. When I have something to say, I’ll say it here. When I have a draft of something I want to put out there to the ether, I’ll post it here. When I have a crap day and want to vent, guess what, you get to read about it.

But mostly, I’ll be writing for me and that I apologize for. I hope you find something of value or interest in my various and random musings but I’ll try not to count on it. :)

Leave a Reply

