I know it’s been a while

I know, I know. It’s been a looooooong time since you last heard from me, but in my defense, it’s been a long month. Both dealing with work and personal issues, which sounds worse than it is. Promise. 🙂

Anyways! What inspired me to get back into the mad world of blogging?? Pi Day!!! That’s right folks, yesterday Congress passed a resolution declaring tomorrow (3/14) National Pi Day.

I can tell which of you lovely readers are math saavy by those of you who are giggling right now. For those of you who aren’t, Pi is the constant representing the ratio of the circumference of a circle to its diameter and equates to (well, after rounding since it has been calculated to over a trillion digits) 3.14. Yep. Congress declared 3/14 the day we celebrate the number 3.14. We can go ahead and file this one under the topic “Why I love Congress.”

Now, don’t get me wrong, Congressional resolutions are a great way to highlight issues of importance that aren’t appropriate for legislation, like celebrating Pi to highlight the importance of science and math education. And it is stories like this that make the never-ending economic news cycle that much easier to bear. But aren’t there other things Congress should be focusing on? Oh like, I don’t know, healthcare, TARP oversight, financial regulation, retirement savings, stimulus oversight, spurring the economy, etc etc etc ad infinitum.

2 responses to “I know it’s been a while

  1. My fav part of this post is how you explained what pi is. 🙂
    Of course, you are absolutely right…I love all the stuff Congress spends valuable time doing. My personal fav was the time they passed a resolution about changing the name of their caf French fries to Freedom fries. THAT was some time well spent.

  2. Heeheehee. I figured since I forgot what pi represented (I knew the number was 3.14159 but I had no idea what it meant) I should explain for those who are as forgetful as I. 😛

Leave a Reply

