Welcome back to life!

Or at least blogging. I’ve determined that I need a regular schedule for blogging if I’m going to keep up with it at all. So here is my promise to you: You will get a brand new, never before seen post every Monday, Wednesday, Friday and (possibly) one on the weekend. This roughly coincides with my work blogging schedule so I can get them all knocked out at once. This means you may be subject to a post here about my thoughts on healthcare reform, retirement planning, or some other such work-related topic. But I hope you’ll find them all interesting!

So here’s what I’ve been up to in my month-long absence.

1) Getting sick on a fairly regular basis that now requires me to get my tonsils out. As my mom so eloquently put it, “It’s funny that your first, real adult situation is coordinating a surgery most people have as a child.” Thanks mom.

2) Working my behind off. If you don’t know, my company deals with HR people who coordinate their companies’ programs that are designed to attract, motivate, and retain talent. Our main issue areas? Employer-provided health benefits, retirement plans, compensation strucutures, work-life balance. Any of this sound familiar? Needless to say, I know my way pretty well around the congressional office buildings. So much so that no less than 3 people have mistaken me for a staffer. I’m still torn as to whether or not that’s a good thing.

3) As much as I love my friends and staying busy, it’s been a month of doing things at least 4 nights out of the week. I hate to admit it but that’s a lot for me these days. If I didn’t have a work function, there was a birthday party to go to or a long-lost friend to catch up with. Sadly, some of my newer friendships may have suffered as a result. I’m still horrible at this balancing act thing.

4) Hiding from the world has also been up there on my activity list. Those of you who know me know that, as social as I can be, I’m also a fan of hibernating. Nights in where I don’t turn on my computer or answer my phone give me a chance to recharge my social batteries so I don’t completely burn out. They also give me a chance to try out new recipes! This past month I mastered bread pudding (a-m-a-z-i-n-g), roasting my own chicken, multiple stews, and found a delicious new mac and cheese recipe. It’s amazing I haven’t gained 20 pounds really.

So that’s it. I know it sounds utterly thrilling, but I do love my life. It’s pretty much awesome. 🙂

Leave a Reply

