Why must you treat me this way?

Ok, I’ll admit it. I am a reality TV junkie. I can’t get enough of the stuff. From the granddaddy of them all, The Real World, to the just patently absurd I Love Money on Vh1, I can’t stop watching. My soft spot is for the brilliance that comes from Bravo, the various incarnations of the Real Housewives, the Millionaire Matchmaker, and, of course, Project Runway (moving to Lifetime apparently) and Top Chef. What can I say, I’m a sucker for a good train wreck. (The exceptions being Project Runway and Top Chef which are two shows that appear to value the talent of their contestants over a good drama.)

However, I’ve received a piece of news today that is sorely tempting me to give up reality television for good. No, I’m not talking about Rod Blagoevich being offered a spot on NBC’s “I’m a Celebrity, Get Me Out of Here!”, for which he will need a judge’s permission to participate since it’s filmed outside of the US. I was disturbed by that, yes, but, I don’t know. Through it all, Blago just seemed like an idiot who wasn’t intentionally trying to hurt anyone, unless, you know, they got in his way.

But when I heard Michael Vick may be getting his own reality show, I was appalled. Really?? He had an illegal dogfighting ring in his backyard. That’s just sick. And you’re giving him a chance, once he’s done with prison, to go on national television to show “what a good guy he is”?! Odds are, we won’t see any footage of the real Michael Vick, BSing with his brother (who’s also a piece of work), hanging out with his friends in his ridiculously large house playing PS3. No. We’ll see the charitable Michael Vick as he volunteers with the needy, has underprivilged children over for a football clinic, and, maybe if it goes well, him helping find homes for stray animals.

Why can’t reality TV have more Susan Boyles?

Leave a Reply

