Always Wear Sunscreen

So I had completely forgotten about Baz Lurhman’s “Everybody’s Free (to Wear Sunscreen,” which was severely overplayed 10 years ago, but my friend Megan posted a link to the video on Facebook this morning and after watching it, two pieces of advice waved their red flags in the air and practically screamed “Look at me! Look at me!” So I thought I would share.

“Don’t waste your time on jealousy. Sometimes you’re ahead, sometimes you’re behind. The race is long and, in the end, it’s only with yourself….Whatever you do, don’t congratulate yourself too much, or berate yourself either. Your choices are half chance. So are everybody else’s.”

As someone who has a problem accepting the choices I make, always wondering “what if,” and constantly comparing myself to others, it’s always nice to be reminded to live in the moment and to embrace the choices you’ve made because you could have just as easily made a different one. And that it’s not about how you stack up to your friends, coworkers, whomever — it’s about how you stack up to your view of yourself.

I hope you also find some nugget of larger meaning in this song, or that it at least brings back fond memories, because those are always nice in the middle of the week. 🙂

Leave a Reply

