A Love Letter…to My Friends

Dear Friends,

Some of you may have noticed that I haven’t been myself for a while now. I’ve been shakier…less solid if you will. I have made choices that you have disagreed with, whether silently or out loud. I have failed to learn from my past mistakes, believing in others a little too much at times. I have been hurt by all of this and turned to you too many times to count for a shoulder to cry on.

And you were always there. No matter what was going in your life, from having babies to getting married to going through your own troubles, you were there to pick me up each and every time I fell. Each and every time I found myself in the exact same hurtful situation.

You let me cry and helped me put myself back together when I was done only to watch me run straight into the same situation. You never said “I told you so” or “Next time you’ll learn.” You never made me feel silly or stupid for ending up back at Square 1. And for that I love you more than you can know.

And now here’s my promise to you. I will be better. I am, despite all appearances to the contrary, able to learn my lesson. After a wedding weekend gauntlet, I have learned that the word “no” exists and that its judicious use can lead to a happier time.

There are no regrets stemming from my agreeing to attend two weddings in two days in two states on almost opposite sides of the country. I’m extremely happy I was able to pull it off. I did, however, learn the limits of my strength and, in doing so without the assistance of many of you, I learned how much I rely on you for my daily sanity. And I realized how infrequently I tell you how much you mean to me.

So here it is, without you my life would not be the amazingly spectacular place it is. I’ve spent much of the past few years looking for the “love of my life” but this weekend showed me that search was amazingly misguided. I don’t have one “love of my life”; I have many. They’re you. Thank you.

Sincerely,

Me

Leave a Reply

