Big News

The past two weeks have been the most insane two weeks of my life to date, and I wish I were engaging in hyperbole when I say that.

In the past two weeks, I’ve gotten engaged, decided to elope in June, flown to California to see my fiance, and spread the news far and wide before going all Facebook official a few days ago.

That’s right. I’m engaged and getting married in approximately 3 months.

I cannot describe to you the level of freaking out I’ve managed to hit.

But, here’s the thing, I am madly, desperately, head over heels, romantic comedy level in love with this man. He is everything I need in a life partner. He’s my best friend, my confidante, calm when I’m not, curious, political, funny, social, active, old-fashioned, sweet, kind….Are you a little nauseous from the sweetness yet? I am a bit but it’s all true.

I assume you probably have some questions. (Well, all 5 of you who read this.)

1) Will I be moving to CA after we’re married? Hell no. I’m sorry but I’m an East Coast girl through and through. You will have to drag me kicking and screaming from the Atlantic coast. We will continue to be a bi-coastal couple until he gets new orders that will, hopefully, bring him back east. If he doesn’t, well, then I’ll move.

2) Really? Eloping? Why not just have a long engagement? There are a couple reasons for this. One – I’ve never been a fan of long engagements. Two – By eloping now and having a vow affirmation/reception once he’s back east, I save myself wedding day stress related to things inevitably going wrong on The Big Day and can focus on the promise I’m making to spend the rest of my life with this person. And, knowing me and my propensity for stressing out, this will save everyone some heartburn. Three – Did you know there are all sorts of military benefits once you’re married to a member of the Coast Guard? Well, there are and they will help us defray the cost of travelling to see one another. (Not to sound cold and calculating, but we did talk about this.) Four – Have I mentioned how much I love this man? It’s an insane amount and I cannot imagine one more day not married to him.

(I may have watched one too many romantic movies over the years.)

3) How often will you see him after you’re married? The answer to this is – not often enough. But! We have a back and forth plan that, for now, has us seeing each other once a month.

4) Doesn’t the concept of eloping involve, you know, secrecy? I guess, technically, this isn’t an elopement. I’ve started referring to it as a pseudo-elopement because, honestly, I could not imagine getting married without my parents there. Also, I would be murdered in my sleep by my friends if I got married without telling them.

So that’s it! That’s my news! That’s why I’m going to be crazily running around for the next 3 months!

I am so excited.

7 responses to “Big News

  1. Yay! So excited for you. So, a coastie? There’s lots of us MilSpouses 🙂 Big blogging community!

    • Thanks Juli!! Also, wow. I AM going to be a military spouse aren’t I?? Things have been happening so fast, that part hadn’t even sunk in yet! Now there’s something I never thought would happen. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Step One: The Parents Meet | Close Encounters of the Me Kind

  3. That’s awesome! In Israel everyone (practically) gets married in less than 6 months and so they don’t stress about short engagements because it is the norm. Go you for doing what you want to do!! And congrats!

    • Thanks Elaine! I think Israelis may be on to something with this short engagement. It’s nice to be able to immediately see the light at the end of the tunnel. 🙂

  4. Holy Crap. I pay attention. 😛

    This is belated but that’s awesome! 😀 Who cares about a short engagement or eloping.. Just being that head over heels for someone and knowing what you want to do is exciting. Just ‘listening’ to you and I’m getting giggly excited for you. I’m sure you know, but cherish each giggly, blissful moment and the rest doesn’t matter. 😀

  5. Pingback: Our Story | Close Encounters of the Me Kind

Leave a Reply

