Lessons to Learn

So I knew this wouldn’t be easy.

But I never thought it would be this hard.

We did fine dating on opposite coasts. I thought being married on opposite coasts would be the same.

I thought wrong.

Every feeling I have seems stronger than before, which is great when the feelings are good and not so great when the feeling is akin to neglect.

It’s not neglect; it’s a learning what sacrifices are involved in being a “military spouse.”

It’s learning that it’s not just us; it’s us and the Coast Guard.

It’s learning how to fight over the phone on borrowed time and that, sometimes, it’s not worth it.

It’s learning to communicate what’s needed and what I’m feeling without laying blame.

It’s realizing that being angry and frustrated with the situation is ok but that it’s not the same as being angry and frustrated with him. (Although the two can go hand in hand.)

When it comes down to it, it’s understanding how much I truly hate this situation.

2 responses to “Lessons to Learn

  1. Ugh, I’m sorry and I know how you feel. That’s why I found the MilSpouse community. A lot of great support if you ever need it and lots of fun people 🙂

    Just so you know I understand what you’re going through. Hang in there, it gets better.

    • Thanks Juli! I actually took inspiration from you and started investigating the MilSpouse community last night. It seems like an amazing resource.

Leave a Reply

